AI Traffic products. Let's have a serious discussion about these.

Mac_Maddog88

So yesterday I thought ti would be fun to fly the Leonardo Maddog out of Flightbeam KSFO with default airliner traffic at 50%.

A simulation that was smooth and normally in the 40-50 FPS range dropped down into the 20s. Are you kidding me?

I'm looking at AI traffic addons. 

None of them seem perfect. They all have tradeoffs.

Performance over nice models.

Nice models over performance.

We have Aerosoft's My Traffic, Justflight's Traffic 360, and Flight1's Ultimate Traffic 2. I hear people going back and fourth about which of these is really better. As I said, I have yet to purchase one so I cannot tell for myself which is the best. 

Which one would give me better FPS vs. Default and still look nice with good models and have realistic flight plans? I want to get to the bottom of the issue and settle which traffic program is better here.

I've been using My Traffic for about 4 years now..got 2010 version loaded at present.

I have my traffic sliders at about 20-25% and it's all ok.Any higher than that and you can't even get on runway for takeoff as just too

Much traffic around the airport.

Pitfalls I see are some airports just don't show traffic on the ground...TNCM comes to mind..drives me nuts.

everytime I start there I got an empty airport,but with traffic airborne and inbound..usually by the time it lands I'm long gone.

I remove all my default AI traffic when I install FSX so don't have any of those baby's flying around.

FPS seems ok with my slider settings

quality of aircraft is not great though so don't expect it to be...undercarriage is especially dodgey on most of the aircraft.

But it does me and I'm happy enough with it.

I used to use WOAI years ago..now those aircraft are excellent...but the whole process of loading and updating the aircraft was too time consuming for me.so I just stick with My Traffic.

Cheers stu