So my SSD said goodbye!

Hi guys

Just a VERY unscientific test with SSD-discs and FS.

I have a Desktop with 4 normal HD:s (3*1TB + 1*3TB) and a 128 GB SSD installed. I have TWO sets of FSX installed on the desktop (to be able to compare). One copy with ALL my add-ons on one 1 TB HD and one copy on the SSD. I fly in general 2-4 hrs per day with the FS on the SSD (since 2011) and the FS on the normal HD I have been using since 2007 (10 000 flight hrs).

My conclusions are:

As my SSD is only 128 GB I can NOT have all my add-ons installed on that disc. I have to install some of them on another 1TB HD. Sometimes that is a BIG problem as I can NOT use the default installer provided with the add-on. So if you want to have your FS on an SSD it must be at least 512GB. The other FS installation gives my NO problems with installers OR having my add-ons in default locations.

I have NOT noticed ANY performance differences having FS installed on a SSD or a HD.

By having EVERYTHING in one place makes it easy to do backups,

As FS is very read intense it uses the discs very much and we all know that an SSD has limited R/W cycles during it¨s liftetime. As for  my SSD it lasted ONLY two years and yesterday it stopped working. My 1TB HD has had NO problems what so ever.

For me, in the future, I will ONLY have my OS on an SSD and my FS on a fast HD at least 1TB. Right now I have plans to move it to a fast 3TB HD that can host EVERYTHING I have and wish for my FS.

Jack

the Swede in Spain

Hey JJJ,

I must admit that SSD's are fast. I personally use 2 600GB Veloci Raptors, which accommodates for all my OS files, and FSX running on my second drive with no issues at all. I agree that you need at least a 5OOGB SSD plus, to house FSX and all its add-ons.

Regards

Sam

I keep P3D+OrbX on my 120GB SSD, but I have to admit it's getting tight. Not sure what I'll do when I run out - either get a 256GB SSD or just move it to an HDD.