X-Plane 11: Does this look correct? Northern California

DNAdrifter

Moderator:  If this isn't the correct area to post please advise or move.

Hi all,  I am new to Orbx but not new to X-Plane.   I thought I would purchase my home area and see if the scenery I can get with Orbx is superior to other my other orthophoto experiences.  I guess the simple question is whether what I see on the screen supposed to match the example screen shots from Orbx?   Some screen shots attached around the SF area from my flight (with the Kodiak) and from the Orbx product page for comparison.  I purchased the HD version and I used one of the Orbx examples is from SD but it still looks way better.

If it doesn't look correct any help guiding me toward setting changes or direction on where to go for help would be much appreciated.   I am happy to to post my .ini file, but didn't know if that was appropriate.

Thanks.

North of GoldenGate.jpg

North of GoldenGate_Orbx Website.jpg

South of GoldenGate.jpg

South of GoldenGate_Orbx Website.jpg

For me it looks like the main difference between your shots and the one from the produkt Page is lighting/weather/time of the day, which of course has a big impact one how a scenery looks.

Take your second shot at noon under a clear sky and you will see.

Hm, had a second look at you pics and realized that there are also other differences, like e.g. the surf which can be seen in the last shot. And in the first comparison water masking is quite different.

Thanks for the response.   Major differences I noticed are listed below.   Agreed lighting seems different.  This was taken in morning with clear conditions.  Everything has always looked kind of gray and hazy to me when I put clear.  To be honest, the difference is more striking on screen before posting (I suspect the forum software is doing some picture compression for posting)

• Water color is gray within no differentiation
  • Overall way less contrast and saturation
  • No surf