Microsoft Visual Redist...etc

NeilG

Ive been avoiding asking this question because I suspect that it is a question that everyone else knows the answer to and I don't. Please put this down to my legendary ignorance of programming and coding. With many products that we obtain we also download Microsoft Visual C++ etc. That means in my case that I've got about 20 installed now. Now logically I would have thought that the only one to keep installed would be the latest but I cant say that I understand what they are so don't really know. Can someone tell me, do I need all of them or can I uninstall some?

I am no expert either and also have six different versions.

However, if you look in Programs and features in the windows

control panel, you will see that they are all very small.

I can see no potential benefit in saving a few mb of disk space versus the

potential downside of something not working.

My guess would be that they are not cumulative, logic would dictate that each

version should be larger than the last if that was the case.

I recommend leaving well alone from my position of ignorance.:) 

Hello Neil 

Most computers that run any type of software or flight sim software will have a full suite of Microsoft Visuals Installed.   For a default Prepar3d v3 you only need Visuals 2013,  For a default Prepar3D v4 you only need Visuals 2015  BUT you will need all the Microsoft visuals to accommodate the different 3rd party software you have Installed 

• 3 months later...
On 17/08/2017 at 1:55 AM, NeilG said: