How many of you actually keep autogen at max?

Mac_Maddog88

I've tried it. It's just too situational. I hate having to lower it when flying a jet or anything other than my Carenado planes, therefore it stays at Dense. Lots of product screenshots look to be at max I've noticed.

So, any of you? Apparently the 4770k at 4.3 GHz doesn't cut it.

I am running a PC that is seven years old.  At the time it was hand-built from specifically chosen parts.  As I work in IT, I had a pretty good idea of what parts would work with what, and the PC was built accordingly.  On it's day, it was top of the line, cutting edge even, and quite expensive.  But, the idea was for it to stand the test of time.  It is.  As a result, I am still getting decent frame rates with FSX even despite using high-end aircraft like PMDG's 737-NGX and Aerosoft's Airbuses ... not to mention Active Sky Next, ORBX sceneries, and a range of other add-ons.

Until I started using the high-end aircraft, I was able to run Autogen at max.  But, once I added the high-end aircraft to my hanger, I had to drop that down a couple of notches to "Normal".

I'm happy with the "Normal" setting.  Everything's still working fine.  The real secret, which I found after plenty of experimentation, was to NOT tweak the sim.  I don't use Nvidia Inspector, haven't overclocked my CPU, don't use an external frame rate limiter, and the only thing I have added to my FSX.cfg file is the HIGHMEM fix.

So, I used to run Autogen at max, but with some high-end aircraft and other add-ons, I now run my autogen at "Normal".  And, with no tweaks, she runs like an absolute charm, even on a seven year old PC!