REX or not to REX is the question

Aussieflyer38

To use REX Essential PLUS with OverDrive within Prepar3D, users will be required to pay a one-time licensing fee. Purchasing this special license is only available within the REX application. To use FlightAware data within REX Essential PLUS with OverDrive, users will be required to purchase a monthly subscription. Purchasing this subscription is only available within the REX application.

I'm considering buying REX Essentials Plus w/overdrive DVD, but am curious as to what the licence fee is about for P3D. As I'm new at this and haven't encountered this before, could someone please enlighten me. How much is the licence fee and how long is it for, also if I purchase REX 4 - texture Direct HD does that also involve another licence fee. Don't quite understand why there is a licence fee for P3D and not FSX. As I'm relatively close to changing to P3D, it would be helpful to know how this works. Thanks.

Don

I use a combination of both, Rex3 and Rex4 for FSX DX10. I was going to "upgrade" my Rex3 EOD but I'm uncertain whether it has been updated to work with P3D 2.2 or not (there's absolutely no mention of it on the main product page or inside the application). There's a much greater sky variation in Rex3, something I would love to use in P3D 2.2

I use ASN for my weahter.

Okay guys I have REX 4 Texture Direct HD. I'm used to  chucking a disk into the CD/DVD player and after it's done its thing, get on with whatever I bought it for. I have downloaded REX and installed it, well I think so. I am confused with the other files and what to do with them. I have "folders" - Images, Log, Sounds, Textures, Windvanes. And I have "text docs" Rextexture.mdf, Rextexture_log.ldf, Rextexture direct.exe.config, and lastly Rextexture direst.xmlserializers.dll