Inaccuracy of Winsock

mikegust

I started the discussion over year and a half ago about correcting inaccuracy of Winsock responses.

Here you can view the discussion

I had lots of very promising responses from developers.

I left it alone, waited for an update and nothing really happened.

I am still flying into numerous locations with Winsock showing directions that is dramatically different from reality.

I really don't care about bunnies and the horses jumping all over the place, this is an aviation simulator, let's start with that and then make cute and useless decorations.

I give you a suggestion guys.

I am not a programmer but I have a feeling that a good programmer could create a sequence of decomplying files looking for incorrectly positioned objects, correcting it and recomplying.

Maybe I'm naïve but I have a feeling, that maybe I'm the only one that has flown in real life and has this crazy need of actually looking at the Winsock.

I am the biggest fan of FTX products, many people, from my advice have purchased that awesome addition to the sim.

It is quite embarrassing when after all of that, people approached an airport and ask me, well the windsock is not working correctly?

There has to be a way, I really believe there has to be a way of fixing it.

HL

mike

Hi Mike,

When placed correctly the standard ORBX windsocks work correctly, showing direction and even windspeed to some extent. Would you provide an example of a windsock that doesn't work and I'll check it out.  While this is true for FSX I understand the P3D sim doesn't support the standard ORBX windsocks (yet).

Thanks, Neil

Neil

You were part of the discussion that I linked in my original post so you are up-to-date what am I talking about.

Varies several acknowledgments of The major problem and very large numbers of airports mentioned.

It has been year and a half since these posts and I am still coming across in airports with windsocks showing wrong direction.