Going SLI

Bandit

Hi guys I am thinking of buying a second GTX275 card and running them SLI.

Question:

Do the cards have to be exactly the same model for SLI to work?

imho that would be the best approach, however fsX does not support SLI, in fact I've heard from various sources that when applying SLI the fps went south, so tread carefully

Wolter is right.

I had two 9800 GX2's in quad SLI and thought I was doing great.

After a discussion on the forum, I took one out and found that my frame rates actually increased and the sim ran smoother.

9800 GX2's are an SLI card anyway (2 x GPU's bolted together) but I am now firmly convinced that running SLI for FSX is an utter waste of time and money.

My next buy will be a 300 series single GPU model with 2 GB Ram at least.

Frank

Thanks Wolter. Anybody using SLI under FSX who can advise?

Here's what looks like an informed view. I have no personal experience with SLI but as I use a TH2GO and have very limited AA performance I am assuming I'm one of those who would benefit.

Thanks Wolter. Anybody using SLI under FSX who can advise?

Here's what looks like an informed view. I have no personal experience with SLI but as I use a TH2GO and have very limited AA performance I am assuming I'm one of those who would benefit.

I assume by this, you mean I'm uninformed?

Frank

I would have thought, and it is my view, that SLI is a feature of the graphic cards and driver and not the application because you can enable/disable SLI in the video driver and not the application/s as well there is an SLI performance mode setting in the driver. From looking at the settings on my SLI driver, I think the SLI can either make an improvement in performance or you make the image look better. I also prefer to let the graphics card to do the work, such as anisotropic filtering and AA etc. As the driver allows for enable/disable SLI, I guess one would not have to remove one video card to test the performance gain with and without SLI.