I good idea . Whats your thoughts

gsumner

Firstly Im making a guess that the more scenery layers you have active the more load on your computer. With that I mean if your fly within a close proximity of these active scenery areas.

So lets say Im flying IFR from Scotland to the South coast of England lets say Southampton.. Along the routes Ill probably fly over a lot of UK2000 airports I have installed. Because Im 15,000 ft and above I cant really take advantage of the complexity of the airport. So why have them active.

Would it not be a good idea to have a quick way of disabling scenery thats really not needed for your flight therefore saving processor time as you overfly complex scenery. Perhaps a nice little GUI program that you input your Departure and Arrival airports, this checks your installed scenery and gives you the quick option of disabling layers before your even start FSX of your fave sim.

This is just a thought, Im not a programmer and dont really know if this is feasible or infact would make any difference.

Graham

Just like Race Sims it makes no difference the the running performance of FSX ONCE the relevant scenery database has been made as FSX ONLY loads what is needed, This is decreed by a number of factors not the least of which is the visibility radius which I believe most Simming pilots have way to high. If the LOD radius is set somewhat realistically then you FSX won't give a toss and only show a basic rendering ,