Searching for photo improvement topic

Sundancer

I am searching for a topic but can't find it. Maybe someone has a suggestion?

The topic was about how to improve the composition of your screenshots or taking pictures in general.

One of the keyword I remember was about placing the subject 1/3 from the edges. That's all I remember...also forgot the author.

The topic was placed about 2-3 months ago, I think. 

Did several searches.....no luck.

Best regards Fred

I think I remember posting something in that thread but, like you, I've no idea where it is now :lol:.

I am a failed painter turned graphic designer (with a final transformation to a Web Developer), so I have quite strong views regarding composition.

This "rule of thirds" is total rubbish, IMHO - whether you mean chopping the image horizontally or vertically. It's just a stupid arbitrary rule that takes no account of the *content* of the image (which determines its composition). Strong areas of colour or light or shade can have a *huge* impact on things, depending on where they are placed - as do "busy" areas compared to "restful/empty" areas. It's just so much more complicated than some simple rule. It gets worse. The Western eye is used to reading left to right, so having an aircraft to the right of centre and climbing is visually positive and having it pointing down is a bit of a letdown, psychologically. However - many Eastern languages read right to left, so that logic is reversed. So ... even visual "balance" can be affected by culture.

I always try to achieve a "balanced" image, where everything is harmonious and nothing leaps out at you - yet some of the best images I've seen are ones that do exactly the opposite - and look dramatic or even shocking. It all depends on the subject matter - or what you're trying to achieve.