software conflict

jbsheridan

Hello there,

A few months ago I corrupted my entire FSX installation, was not able to recover, and in frustration went on a leave of absence.

I am ready to try again now and I have appropriate back up and recovery safe guards in place.

What happened was that there was a conflict between Rex 4 textures and Orbx Global and Vector. It produced vast areas of landscape submerged in water.

There was, in September, a recovery thread for this problem but it did not help.

What I would like to know is...

1. Does this problem still exist?

2. Is there any way to avoid it and run together both Rex 4 and all of the Orbx products?

3. Are there any other software conflicts I should be aware of with Active Sky, Ultimate Weather, Ultimate Night?

Thank you,

jb

Not sure...there could be a number of reasons, I have no personal experience with that issue. IMO with your topic title of "software conflict" you will probably get a ton of response leading you in a million different directions. I would recommend a posting in a seperate thread with more specifics at the time of the issue with screenshots..would be very helpful :)

Cheers

Doug

Never heard of REX4/Orbx causing an issue with water being land, I have seen some conflicts with UTX which are usually resolved via running the UTX config tool again

Post up a screenshot of the issue, and also note any scenery products you have installed at the time

I did a search for my September post and found it. Also the link to Holgers "fix".

It seems that the problem is incorrect or missing .cfg paths . ???

1. Perhaps this is not a specific product conflict issue?

2. How does it happen?

3. How can it be avoided?

The fix did not work for me.

Hi there,

Below is my September post. And below that is the link to Holger's note about morphing and the fix.

http://www.orbxsystems.com/forum/topic/85356-corrupted-something/

http://www.orbxsyste...xture-morphing/