New GTX 280

Graham Eccleston

I've just ordered a new GeForce GTX 280 to replace my 8800 Ultra and on checking my system, a Dell XPS 720, I find my graphics card power supply is via 2 x 6 pin plugs while the GTX 280 requires 1 x 6 pin and 1 x 8 pin plugs.

The technicians advising me on the transaction have said my 2 x 6 pin set-up will be fine, the 2 extra pins will remain empty and that is OK.

Am I being correctly advised, or is this just salesmen telling me anything to get the sale?

I will cancel the order if this problem is a 'show stopper'.

I have some experience on this one...

Yes, the card will run....okay...but it will NOT run at full power, unless its getting all the juice it was designed for. Now most of us agree that a GPU over an 8800 Ultra will not increase FPS in FSX lots, but some. With that in mind, and you current power plugs, you could say that the 280 card WILL get enough power to make a difference in FSX, since FSX is more CPU dependent than GPU dependent. Now if you want to be able to run that 280 GTX at its full capacity for other games, then keep in mind that until you upgrade your power supply, it won't be running at full speed. That's the good news...

Tha bad news is that it might not get enough power to properly boot up your system, which is what happened to me a while back, when I tried to upgrade from a 8800 GTS to a 9800 Gx2. The difference in the plugs was the same problem your having, and techs for the 9800 Gx2 told me the same thing they told you. Reality for my system is that the card just would not work right, even though it was getting enough power to physically appear running normally (i.e. the fan was running, and the led lights on the video card came on).

That's what I have for ya... your mileage may very...