Virus??

Wadena

I downloaded the FTX Central (ftxcentral3_installer.exe). Norton scanned it, Okay. I clicked it and the installation began. Again Norton scanned and this time the .exe or something in it was flagged as a virus with HIGH risk (something called heur.advml.b was put in quarantine and the installation stopped. Does anyone know what this is and why it's in the installer? Is it safe to remove it from quarantine and go on with the setup/installation?

I was going to purchase the following addons:
- FTX Global BASE Pack.
- FTX Global Vector.
- EU Norway.

Screenshot (3).png

Screenshot (6).png

Screenshot (7).png

2 minutes ago, spud said:

I would suggest that you use another virus protection program.  Norton's is, IMHO garbage.

I don't know about that. I've been using it for 15 years and I've only had one virus in that time, and that was my own fault (forgot to re-enable Norton). For me at least it's been good and the support is superb :-)

I don't know about that. I've been using it for 15 years and I've only had one virus in that time, and that was my own fault (forgot to re-enable Norton). For me at least it's been good and the support is superb :-)

If you want to both enhance your rig and save money, Windows Defender is the most recommanded

Wadena

I saw the same error message when I tried this a few days ago. Wondering how you identified it as a false positive - I mean that is what everyone is saying it is, and you know - probably that's right. But as far as I know Norton hasn't pushed any updates with the relabeling.

I have also used Norton for at least a decade without any big issues. I've encountered two website/vendors (both flight sim related) that claim false positives. I offered my assistance with the other site and they got it resolved with Norton - so no more false positives for them.