USB 3 portable drives.

Dadtom65

Hi. On my system I have a 120 Ssd for Windows and a 250 Ssd for FSX, plus a normal 500 gig hard drive and a 1tb normal hard drive. I allso have a 1tb Samsung portable drive that has all my Orbx back ups and other stuff. I was wondering if I bought a 2tb Samsung portable drive just for FSX seeing as they are a lot cheaper than Ssd drives, I mean you can buy the 2 tb one for about £65 where as an Ssd one even a 1tb is nearly £180 which being a pensioner I defiantly can not afford. As you might gather my 250 Ssd is filling up even though I use a junction link for Orbx stuff to another drive. I was just thinking if the portable drive is an alternative and if it would be fast enough to load FSX without any lags or other problems. Has anyone else used a portable drive for their FSX. I realise FSX would load slower with the drive, but it loads slow now I think because of the link, which is not a problem. Thanks for any help. Derek.

I'm no expert, but USB3 with the external drive is nowhere near as fast as an internal drive would be, either a SSD or a HD--both are faster than a USB3 hook-up.  At least this was the advice from my computer guru when I built my own rig back in January.......