Highmemfix=1

Bassman

This .cfg entry I believe re-routes some load from CPU to GPU ???

As you can see I have a fairly basic system. Using Task Manager processes I can see four graphs one for each CPU (I presume a Core 2 Quad has 4 CPU's or Cores???). The 1st two graphs hardly rise up whilst the last two graphs pretty well max out. The Task manager further advises that when I am flying around Coffs Harbour in a default Cessa 172,  the total CPU usage only gets to ~52%. To me that means I have ~48% of the resource unutilised.

So question is, does XP use all four CPU's, if so, should I remove the Highmemfix entry so that in fact I leave the load with the CPU thus freeing up GPU resources ??? and would that then improve frame rates??? and furthjer if that is so, can one re-route some loaf from the GPU to the CPU i.e. a reversal of the Highmemfix effect???

I am not too technically minded with the why's and wherefore's of computers, just interested in FSX, so question is probably not too logical, but I don't know.

Cheers  VH-DAN

Bassman have you tried to set your AffinityMask to 14 to force the load to the last three cores of your CPU and used the Highmemfix=1?

Even though the AffinityMask tweak tells FSX to use the last three cores FSX will still use Core0 (the first core) to load ground textures. If you set your Fiberframefraction to .50 the first core will use half of every cpu cycle to load scenery.

This is according to a former FSX developer Phil whats-his-name.

Its the way I've been running my sim for awhile and it works great for me.

To be put somewhere in the cfg:

[JOBSCHEDULER]

AffinityMask=12

...or 14, 12 reduces to usage of two cores, but core 0 still running threads, so still three cores. Some times less is more, seems to work for me, it´s supposed to reduce thread collisions (whatever that is exactly, it´s a boo boo on your system, that´s all I know ::))

Bjorn