Developer Blog Video - AU GOLD testing

Here's a small video-blog insight into the developer's view of the FTX world during testing. Typically, I do about 50 very short "flights" per day, usually in the ultralight which allows maximum viewing flexibility, and I use the SHIFT+O key combo prodigiously to look around at what I've been working on. Sadly, as a developer, I rarely get the chance to really plan and enjoy longer VFR flights. I spend more time slewing and checking than doing any navs :)

In this short example you're getting a sneak peek at some of the new rural textures to appear in AU GOLD. In this scenario I've been working on the autogen annotation and in this flight I am checking to see if the latest annotation "works" in the sim. That means generally flying low and slow, panning around and zooming. What I am looking for is the correct placement of objects such as houses, sheds, trees - generally to make sure it all works correctly. Do the trees line up ok? Have I selected an accurate variety of tree species for the area? Are their shadows in the right place? Do birds fly where I've placed them? Etc. etc. I do a test flight for each and every single texture tile that is worked on.

You may also notice the large white "borders" on the horizon. Let me explain. During development, we use a special custom landclass test area which lays out all the new AU GOLD textures in a large grid. This allows us to quickly move from one texture class to another and see how they all work together. Therefore you'll see the big white area seperating each class.

Matt Tomkins has a variation on this test area, in which all the texture classes are meshed together, allowing him to test colour blending and the meshing tiles to see how unique texture classes interoperate.