Windows 'Error Sounds' repeatedly in new airports.

Dazza123

I have been using FSX successfully on Windows 10 for a few years now with some old versions of FTX airports installed, including an old version of YMML. I generally use these products together with the PMDG 737 NGX aircraft which generally works ok but does put a strain on Frame Rates under some circumstances. I have recently purchased the new version 3 of YMML as well as YBCS Gold Coast Airport. Purchase receipt numbers are  5be89300a19de and 5be850d8b8cec respectively.

I used them for the first time last night and found that at both airports I was hearing the Windows 'Ding-Dong' error sound repeatedly about every 10 seconds. In my current windows system sounds profile settings, it appears the sound I am hearing identifies as either 'Device Connect' or 'Device Disconnect' however I am not sure if this information is relevant to the actual problem. I have never heard any windows error sounds whilst FSX is running in the past and I am a long term user of the application.

Other recent changes noted that may be relevant are that FTX Central altered the order of my Scenery Library so I was wondering if these changes are producing an error? I do have alternative Australian Scenery installed as well as FTX AU which all ran ok in the past until these two new airports and FTX Central were purchased and installed. I would appreciate any feedback on what might cause this issue and of course if it can be rectified as it is a very annoying noise and very unrealistic....

Hi Welcome to the forums

It sounds like you are hearing the OOM (Out of memory) warning. It sounds when windows has detected it is about to run out of VAS.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_address_space