Incorrect error: You do not have enough space to install TrueEarth Great Britain South

waynepiekarski

Hi there,

This is my first time purchasing ORBX scenery. I was able to download and install it on this system, but had an error running X-Plane so thought I'd try the verify option in FTX to check that all was installed correctly. Instead I got this error:

FTX Central

You do not have enough space to install TrueEarth Great Britain South.

Your simulator drive (C) requires 24.69 GB free. It currently has 3.81 GB (4093166053 b).

Retry?

However, this message is incorrect. I have 53.1 GB free of 458 GB right now, so there should be plenty of space.

Where does it get the value 3.81 GB from, since it is clearly incorrect? I'm running FTX Central - XP11 v3.3.1.4 on Windows 10.

thanks,
Wayne

@W2DR WinDirStat will tell you how much drive space is being used, but this value is going to be the same as the 53 GB that I already reported.

The problem is that the FTX installer has a bug and showing an incorrect value for the space free, and then it is popping up an error message which should not happen. The programmer who wrote the installer needs to look at the code and make a fix somewhere.

Also, I heard on some other forum that the TrueEarth Great Britain actually requires 128 GB of disk space to install ... if this is the case, then the error requesting 24.69 GB free is also wrong ... the install is not working for me, and the reason I got this error was when trying to verify the install, it failed part way through. Perhaps all the disk space values here are just wrong, using 32-bit ints when they need to be 64-bit, or multiplied by some incorrect scaling factor? From what I've seen in other forum postings, the FTX installer seems to have quite a few bugs in it.

17 hours ago, Nick Cooper said:

The download is as stated and the installed size is as you stated.