orbx england scenery error

Laurence daniels

Hello, Sorry if i am posting this in the wrong place but iI would appreciate some advice...im very new to this.

I recently downloaded FSX steam edition which runs fine but the scenery is very basic so have bought  Orbx England. When i now start FSX i get two error messages.

SCENERY.CFG error invalid remote scenery path in scenery area.120 click ok to continue

SCENERY.CFG error invalid remote scenery path in scenery area.130 click ok to continue

FSX starts upo but without the new scenery.

The install was done using FTX central three so dont think i did anything.

If you have any thoughts I would be very grateful.

I have a suggestion for you. Find your scenery.cfg file. I am unsure where in FSX it is located it may be your FSX directory. Hope fully someone can advise you of it's location or Google "where is scenery cfg located in FSX".

Anyway when you locate it open it with Notepad and at the top of Notepad you will find the "EDIT" option. Open Edit and click on FIND.

Enter "120" ( without the quote marks).

It should find it. It should then show you

Title=

Local=

Layer=

Active=

Required=

It will also probably show a line called Remote=. Just delete that line and Save.

Same deal for area 130.

This has happened to me for some reason several times and doing what I mentioned above has eliminated the notification and resulted in the scenery displaying correctly.

Your scenery cfg is in (win10 at least) C:\Users\[your user]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\FSX

Make a copy just to be safe, but don't worry. If you mess up completely, take the scenery.cfg out of that folder and restart fsx. It will build a new default one. You would have to add your sceneries back in via the scenery library, but at least you are up and running that way.

Maybe post copies of the two offending entries here if not sure what to do. The remote section is telling your FSX to look somewhere off your main PC, and it can't find it.