Best eye candy addons?

akaluke

Apart from FTX - which I'll buy as soon as it's available, what are the other best eye candy addons?

I'm new to FSX (and flight sim), so the options are a little confusing.

I guess I need mesh AND scenery AND something for skies?

What's the best around at the moment (apart from FTX obviously).

I'd try  FlightEnvironmentX (FEX) - its reported to work well with FTX. I bought it this week and out of the box it makes a real difference to the sky/sea and cloud setup over and above default FSX.

FEX can be found here.

Guest Private-Cowboy

Sad but true, GEXwho? I'd say the idea behind GEX is so FS9ish, the FTX approach is the future. THIS is how I think a modern well optimized scenery should look like. The bad thing now is, you don't wanna fly anywhere outside FTX anymore, even if you have UTX/GEX.

Thanks for the xtra info...

I've just bought and installed FTX - haven't started FSX yet...just about to ;-) ...

So...

GEX is like FTX but not as good but covers more territory?

FEX is for sky/water?

Active Sky X - sky/weather?

What about FSGenesis mesh? Is this the best mesh addon? Do I need/want it? Any alternatives?

Uhu_Fledermaus, dont just like it, I love it.  Still cant believe how FTX changed the whole FSX experience. 

Never a truer word said, this one add on has totally breathed new life into the sim and has given those "It dosen't get better than FS2004" or "I will never upgrade from FS2004" crowd, something to think about...

Cheers,

Thanks for the xtra info...

I've just bought and installed FTX - haven't started FSX yet...just about to ;-) ...

So...

GEX is like FTX but not as good but covers more territory?

FEX is for sky/water?

Active Sky X - sky/weather?

What about FSGenesis mesh? Is this the best mesh addon? Do I need/want it? Any alternatives?