Fsx freezing then resuming

avocado0425

Hi all,

Bit of a newbie here but have been having a few problems with fsx freezing/locking up in flight. Looked through a lot  of forums and picked up a few tweaks that may fix the problem. When the freeze occurred I usually flicked to process manager and trashed the flight. A couple of days ago I had a freeze, got p....d off and walked out of the room. Some time later I returned to find that the program had resumed operation. Today I set off to try to make it happen again, and so I did-twice! Has anyone else experienced this?

Hi,

Can you provide some idea of the system specs you are using, whether this a new problem or if you have always had it, what detail settings you have configured and if you have tried launching task manager to track the FSX process usage when you get a freeze?

FSX can be very fickle configuration wise but it also has a large dependency on what other things your system might be doing at the same time which might affect performance.

Cheers.

Look in the Tweaks and Tips forum for the fsx.cfg fix. As you can see in my signature, I have a medium spec PC. Every once in a while I start getting twitcy frame rates and do this little trick. Last performed yesterday and I am again getting a smooth 20's to 30's frame rates.

Freezing has more to do with hardware than software. You may simply need a more powerful computer. You also can help remedy the problem by moving FSX sliders further to the left, You may find a happy balance there....btw, there are some config tweaks that can help such as HIMEMFIX=1, BUFFERPOOLS=0, and setting LOD at 3.5 rather than 4.5. No guarantees, but those moves have helped me with an older system, and milking the best out of it I can without the upgrade I need.

Sherm

Thanks for the replies ,