To Automate or NOT Automate the vexing question

Maurice_King

I have for a long time maintained that far too many pilots get themselves in the shit so to speak because they over think and over use tech available to them instead of  ' and I borrow a quote from a movie here .... "Just Fly The Damn Plane"  .... 

Watch this and tell me I'm wrong 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZDjkIjuHGE

Hi Maurice,

One question first, are you in the airline business and/or are you an active real world pilot? I am an active real world pilot (Cpt) rated on Embraer 190/195 and a Trainer for Human Factors.

Just to make sure we talk on the same or on a different level about this topic. Its 16 years old but still a subject to talk about!

Yes Mickey I am a pilot although not commercial I am still actively when I can fly.

After watching this Video and I know it is a bit dated, I started to wonder about the modern day effect of becoming work saturated and instead of say doing what the ATC wants and staying aware they go head down programming the FMC in this example which required verification and corroboration, and more importantly TIME and that is some instances as you would know is not available where to maintain separation things need to be done NOW.

What I mean is if you the pilot are required by ATC to change your course because of a weather shift or some other need to alter course or arrival track that the pilots should not rely on automation but fly the Aircraft and then when established on it's new desired course than program the FMC or other systems to then take over.

The end result of this video was and at least for me , it made me think about the possibility that the work load on pilots is often generated by themselves having to follow policy, 

I like this video simply because it highlights the problems generated by the workload of having to reprogram and or change flight paths based on information that in some cases you have no control over the accuracy of.

Hi Maurice,