So, what's the state of things?

BiggerBoat

I've been away from flying FSX for several months. Had to jump back in to try the PNW demo, and it's glorious. As a long-time PNW resident, I'd say that Orbx has captured the essence of the area quite well.

However, it also brings back the fretting about performance that is the bane of FSX for me. My current system is around 2 years old, and I can get generally good performance if I crank down some settings and tweak the heck out of it, but it's frustrating. I generally hit the wall in terms of autogen, and the numerous trees of PNW exacerbate this.

Which brings me to my question. I'm considering a computer upgrade later this year, and I'm wondering whether FSX combined with the latest tech has hit its stride. Are you guys with the latest hardware generally running PNW without much compromise in terms of settings? Are you able to fly over maxed out autogen mountains and down over the cities with consistent, smooth performance? Can you then toss in some clouds and some AI without bringing it to its knees?

If we're not quite there yet, I might even consider waiting another year or two before upgrading.

For reference, here's my current system:

Q6600 (overclock to 3.2)

ABIT IP35-E

Geforce 8800 GTS 512

G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB)  DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800

I know that people have different perceptions of "smooth", and the common mantra is that FSX is smoother than the FPS might indicate. However, if things are stuttery or drop below 20 fps or so, I really notice it. For me, fight sims are all about smoothness and consistency, and the only thing that gives me that right now is FS9 (which looked OK compared to out-of-the-box FSX, but the Orbx stuff makes it hard to go back to).

I miss the days when processor speeds used to double every 18 months....