Beginners Corner

kjrman

Hello,

I am new to flight simming.  I became interested in sims as a way to practice for my private pilots license (taking written test this week).  I was very impressed with the accuracy of FSX, radio frequecies, VOR, etc...  I chanced upon FTX, downloaded the demo and, wow.  I ordered the AU DVD and, double wow.  I prepayed for the PNW DVD, triple wow.  Just wanted to say that it sure seems to be an exciting time to be a newbie in the flight sim world!  I have so many basic questions I'm embarrassed to ask.

Which forum  is most closely associated with a beginners corner?

Thank you to the ORBX folks for such great products and support.  Thanks also to the contributors of this forum, very informative.

Thanks again,

Kelly

Welcome Kelly.

There's not really a beginners' forum as such. There's a number of sub-forums, so probably best to pitch your questions to the most appropriate one - flying questions to the 'pilot's lounge'; hardware questions to 'hardware tech and talk' etc. It's just a matter of putting your questions clearly anf you'll get a response.

Ive been there and still am in a lot of ways ;D  Its a learning game and doesnt stop, particularly with me since you can add computer illiteracy when I first started .

Maybe a list of tools needed to keep the game in shape would help and where to find things like Nvidea control panel, aircraft cfg,

and cleaners like defraggers, ATF, page defrag and so on.  And of course your freebie sources. 

There is a steep learning curve to begin with and a lot of messing around. Your passion will see you through.

Hey there Kelly ;D

You know what - there is never a dumb question - I guess as the saying goes - it's the questions that are not asked that are the dumb questions! :P