EU Ireland and other FTX first installation

carlalgu

(It Comes from a first forum post I initially did the 14th November 2017, first answered by John Dow. I'm reposting it here and completing it as I understand this is the correct place).

Dear Orbx Sir/Mme.,

sorry for a help request for some -I can imagine- so basic questions. I'm a real rookie in Flight Simulation. I'm just trying to configure a good software base to train in FSX SE with a little more realistic scenery. After asking some friends, I have chosen ORBX as the community consider your brand as a warranty of quality, and some videos and screenshots comparing with other products, seem to say the same. Moreover, I'm failing in achieving the expected result.

I installed 3 months ago FSX Steam over Windows 10. With FSX Steam I bought and installed also REX 4 Texture.

I use FSX to train in flights (currently) over Ireland. I'm in fact flight instructor flying in South of Ireland diary. Original FSXscenario is so bad, that it was totally impossible to me neither recognize the main landmarks or coastline accidents. I installed some freeware Ireland scenery (ireland+some Irish airports) with some improvement, but still far from what I was looking for. So, I decided to buy ORBX EU_Ireland, after seeing how it was supposed to look like. Moreover, after having installed it and configured FSX as recommended in your instructions, the results are far distant from what expected (poorer) in terms of realism, detail or precision.

I thought it could be due other software was required to achieve the level and look you show in your website, so finally (and the day I decided that I discovered so happily you 45% off offer) I bought and installed also 4 FTX Global products:  FTX Global BASE Pack, VECTOR, openLC Europe and Trees HD (Plus Libraries). I Installed also some ORBX freeware as Euro Airports Pack or Islandia.