TrackIR and External View for Flight Sim

Infinity

Hello all.  Newbie here.  I'd like to set up a Flight Sim and had a question.  I'm interested in using the TrackIR4 system using 1 or 2 monitors with a seperate projector system.  I like the idea of having a dedicated instrument panel in front with a peripheral external view in the background.  Basically a dedicated cockpit surrounded by the external view.

Assuming I can move just my eyes vs. my head to glance at the instrument panel:

I'd like to know if this set up is possible?

Will TrackIR4 work in External View only (no inside visuals) and still "move around" outside? 

Will the instrument panel on the seperate monitor(s) be in 3D using the IR4?

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.  I'm still new to all this and will accept any ideas.  Thanks.

Welcome mate, the tack IR translates your head movement to view orientation no matter where that view is, so yes it does work in external views to look around. However overlaying a flat 2D panel will look strange, as the panel will stay fixed to the screen, but the scenery behind the panel will be moving around with your head movement. TrackIR is at it's best while in the virtual cockpit.

Russ.

Thanks for your reply.  Sorry, but I didn't mean a screen overlayed by another or 2 monitors tied together, but two seperate screens spaced appropriately apart (one close small monitor - instruments / and one very large sceen farther behind - external view).  Much like real flying, you have the ability to "track around" outside, yet always have your instrument panel to view on the inside (assuming you don't have to move your head down of course).  This would in theory give your outside view a much larger picture thereby immersing yourself and still be able to "look around."  Maybe TrackIR is better used the way I've seen it in the videos and the way your're discussing here.  I just didn't know if this setup would be possible.