New PC

Guest Mitchell Sale

Hi guys

let me start of in saying im a total noob when it comes to PC hardware so go easy on me  ;D::):P

it's about time to upgrade my PC (if you look at my current PC specs that time was ment to be a long time ago lol)

Ive made a Custom Core i7 machine with these guys https://ipspty.com.au for a pretty good price ..... $2349

here's the specs ......

Intel Core i7 920 (2.66Ghz) 8Mb Cache, Quad Core, LGA1366

Intel X58 - Triple DDR3 - PCI-E 2.0 - SATA RAID - HD Sound - 1 xGigabit LAN (MSI X58-Pro-E)

Cooler Master 690 - - - - Advanced Cooling

Kingston 6Gb, DDR3-1333Mhz - Triple Channel

1 x Western Digital 1TB SATA-II, 7200RPM, 32Mb Cache

1GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285, DDR3

Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

is it any good guys ... anything I could change?

Cheers,

Mitchell

Intel Core i7 920 (2.66Ghz) 8Mb Cache, Quad Core, LGA1366<<<<>>>you will need to overclock this baby for a good FSX experience

Intel X58 - Triple DDR3 - PCI-E 2.0 - SATA RAID - HD Sound - 1 xGigabit LAN (MSI X58-Pro-E)

Cooler Master 690 - - - - Advanced Cooling

Kingston 6Gb, DDR3-1333Mhz - Triple Channel<<<<>>>>>go for the 1600MHz

1 x Western Digital 1TB SATA-II, 7200RPM, 32Mb Cache<<<<<OS on the 7200RPM one>>>>add one western raptor 300GB 10,000RPM for FSX

1GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285, DDR3

Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

I concur on the overclocking of the i7 920, but not to fear...with the X58 chipset MB and the i7 chips, overclocking is amazingly simple, not to mention a lot less risky. As long as you have real good air cooling, you can pump a 920 or 940 up pretty good. MAKE SURE that the i7 920 you get is D0 stepping, and not the older C0 stepping . The D0 is the next generation version, and it's more efficient with power comsumption, and is a slightly better overall performer than its predecessor.