Quadrant controls

Krono

Hi

At the moment I am looking at new quadrant controls for fsx. I have been using two saitek quadrants for about 15 months but of late have found the outputs to be very spikey, I use FSCUIP for all programming with filtering on. It has gotten to the stage that trying to fly anything with finesse like the dodo or PMGs planes is almost impossible because you either have blown turbos in the 4100 or your throttle flicks up and down in the dodo. I have stripped and cleaned the levers with decent cleaning spray but Im afraid to say that once opened the quadrants show how cheaply made they really are. I have been reading about the GOFlight quadrant and wondering if anyone here uses them or any information they would like to suggest on a replacement brand of some type.

Ken

Spikeing usually indicates that the Pot is either failing or has dust in there effecting the resistance and thereby the acuracy. I thought the Saitek units were Hall effect but they might be pots in which case a small squirt of pot lubricant will most likely do the trick.

Hi Jasmckee

At the moment the quadrant seems fine (actually quite good) but I really think it might only be temporary. I have been reading a lot on the net about saitek quadrants spiking and there seems to be a lot of people out there with the same problems. I have only done one out of the the quads so I will be able to compare the two over the next couple of weeks. I will leave a comment here in a few weeks time to let you know how they are doing. By the way if you are going to clean yours don't take the actual separate lever apart. Simply spray each lever pot individually when you take them out of the main casing. The pots will rotate a full 360 degrees with no stops and are sods to get back to the correct position.  Luckily I only took 1 apart, the resistance setting of one 1 pot effects all 3 pots in the quadrant and that includes the detent switch position at the bottom.

Ken  :)

Hey guys,