Fuzzy Ground Textures Up Close, FSX with FTX Global and REX4

ajlien

Hi, I'm sorry, I'm really new with this flight sim stuff, so I apologize in advance if I'm asking a stupid question. I have downloaded FTX Global Base, OpenLC and Trees HD, as well as REX4+ Soft Cloud and FreeMeshX after being disappointed that FSX looked nothing like what I saw on Youtube lol. So far, the downloads have greatly enhanced my experience, but I am having a ground texture issue where the ground in the distance looks great, but closer to the aircraft [in Spot view and in cockpit view], the ground texture is extremely grainy. In the snow [pictured in my screenshots], it looks like an old TV with the fuzzies. I'm hoping someone can help me figure out what setting I need to tweak? I thought maybe it was the mesh scenery I just added to the scenery library, but when I turned that off in my settings, it still looked the same. I turned on anti-aliasing to the max and it helped a tad, but still looks about the same. 

It's not the worst thing, but I feel like there is something simple I'm missing that would make it look better. Thanks!20170103172542_1.jpg20170103173002_1.jpg

Someone earlier asked to show my settings, so here they are. I've tinkered with the mesh complexity, resolution, etc by turning some settings down a bunch, but I didn't notice a discernable difference. Even though it looked a lot blockier [old] before I added anything, I didn't have this problem with the original steam version [that's the FSX I'm using]. I have an i7-5930k and 2x8 gb ram with a gtx980 card. 

Settings.jpg

Did all that, and nothing changed as far as the ground texture goes. It doesn't appear to be any setting, at least not a setting in FSX specifically. I'm thinking maybe one of my addons is the problem? I haven't had any performance issues even with the settings all the way high, but I'm doing pretty simple missions offline so far. I'll consider adjusting those when my performance starts suffering.