Looking forward to getting this running with FTX!

Aplogies to those who may already know of this but thought I'd pass along a nifty bit've software that offers an alternative to TrackIr..

http://www.free-track.net/english/

As I'm not an electrician I went for the option of using the TrackIR Trackclip which I am told on the forum works in lieu of a self manufactured LED setup.. I'm still waiting for it to arrive in the mail so I can't comment on any success/failure yet..

Anyway, I can't wait to use this with FTX!! If anyone is using TrackIR or Freetrack already, would be great to see some vids of FTX in action when it is released! Yip yip!

I have a trackIR, and yeah, it glows red, so I think its just IR really. Just make sure you look after your trackclip though. i have pretty heavy headphones (Sony DJ 700 headphones with 40mm or 50mm cones), and I think stuff piled up on my trackIR attached, or I put the headphones the wrong way around on my desk, and it snapped (had to superglue it).

Freetrack looks interesting though. Might give it a try, it might be better then my trackIR in some ways. The only issue I forsee is maybe more lag on movements via webcam. I am downloading it anyway though to see (I have a Logitech Pro 9000, so its a pretty good webcam)

I Just tried it with my trackClip

It does NOT work for me. I'm not sure if its because:

1) my Logitech 9000 isn't picking up enough in the IR spectrum,

2) the Trackclip isn't putting off IR light,

3) the logitech 9000 is too high res (its a HD webcam)

4) My Monitor is too bright (even all the way with brightness down)

(REREADING THE INSTRUCTIONS: I discovered probably its my IR filter on my webcam)

But, it would not accurately track my head, and it seemed to pick up random dots in other locations incorrectly.

I tried it lights on and lights off, and messed with the contrast (some dots stay). I also ensured 3 dots (via clip) were selected.

My hardware is:

logitech 9000 Webcam

Trackclip Pro