White Control Panel and FTX Central Icons

FleetingThought

So: recently, when I've added a new airport, or reinstalled an airport, or updated ORBXLIBS to latest, I've had this weird phenomenon: the icon art shows up properly if the icon is left on the desktop, but if I want to unclutter and put the icon where I've been putting it for a couple of years now, in my ORBX folder on my desktop..... it goes white.

I've looked up white icons in Win8.1 (same issue as Win7), and have deleted the iconcache.db in the Users/Local hidden folder, restarted, but that doesn't seem to solve this particular problem.

Here are the currently slightly laborious steps, though, I have gone through to solve the problem:

1. Rename the Control Panel or FTX Central shortcut icon on desktop to OLD-whatever-it's-name-is.

2. r-click and select Go To File Location.

3. See File Location. See Shortcut to .exe, be it FTXCentral.exe or ORBX Control Panel.exe.

4. r-click and copy icon in ORBX folder to desktop.

5. If an airport control panel, r-click on ORBX Control Panel shortcut and rename it to, say, "ORBX NZMF Control Panel (FSX)", for example.

6. r-click on OLD-etc. in step 1. (in this case, whited-out "OLD ORBX NZMF Control Panel (FSX)," select Properties, go to Target box, and select all the text that is in that box (the script for what the shortcut should do).

7. r-click on new, generic shortcut, now renamed "ORBX NZMF Control Panel (FSX)" -- without quotes, see step 5 -- select Properties, and Paste the text copied from the diseased, whited-out icon into this new one.

8. Click Apply.

9. Check to make sure new shortcut icon works.

10. Drag it into the ORBX folder on my desktop; it is now no longer suffering from White Blank Icon Disease.

11. Delete the diseased version on the desktop.