TV as monitor - what AA Setting when using REX

cthiggin2

Hello folks,

I've been using a Samsung 37" TV for about three months now and I am very very happy with the quality of FSX and the fact I can now see the guages.

My only issue is when I'm flying over water.  I have the shimmers and "only" with water.  I've used REX since it's inception.  Is there a setting or an AA setting

I can use to reduce the shimmers?? When I'm low (1000 ft and lower) it looks great.  It's when I'm flying above 1000 ft and looking out over water that the shimmers

are just very annoying.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

cthiggin

Hello cthiggin

I use a 40 inch telly for my sim and have started using the free fs water configurator ( google it,it's free) and the best thing about it is that there are a lot of presets that change the way the water appears. This applies to the depth of colour as well as its outward appearance. It is something I set before anything else and then go into FSX or whatever else you use.

If you get stuck finding the program post back to me and I will see if I can find you a link.

Regards

HH :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

Hello Highlandhippie,

Thanks for your reply.  I've used FSWC since it came out and it's a marvelous little program.  REX also approves of it highly with their product.

I'm just trying to figure out if it's a characteristic of using a hi-end tv as a monitor or if I need to set the AA to a different setting.

Have a blessed day.

cthiggin

I'm using the TV in "movie mode" which looks best for FSX overall.  "Me thinks" that if I desaturate any more, then I'll lose some visual quality.  Again, only the water texture from 1000 ft and above just shimmers like I'm using DX10 mode, which I'm not.  I have the "flattest and less shimmer" theme for water in REX checked.  Of course I never had this issue with my 22" monitor and I do know you may "lose" a little with a TV, but I'll never go back.

Thanks,

cthiggin