It pays to OC video card, screen shots, 85% OC vs Default

caaront

It does make a difference, mainly in texture loading but everything is smoother overall.

I use Riva tuner to OC my card, and I have 2 profiles I use:

1. Default-

When I'm not gaming its set to default.

2.- 85% over clock, when I'm in FSX I use this profile.

At 90% OC I got artifacts so I go no higher than 85%.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Glad to hear your success! You may or may not know the answer but I will ask anyway. I have a GTX285 FTW. This card is supposed to be an overclocked version of the stock 285. It's clock settings are higher out the box. I was wondering if this card can still be overclocked? It is made by EVGA.

Thanks

Bob

I am new to this so I will not tell anyone to OC their card or CPU directly, as I'd hate for someone to damage a card as a result of my advice, I hope you understand.

But you can download Riva Tuner and it will read your card and show you its default settings and its maximum settings.

If there is a pretty good amount of room to work with it would probably be okay to OC it a little at a time.

I'm sorry about the rough red line in the screen shot but it goes from the default settings on the card to the maximum, that is the "amount of room to work with" I am talking about.

I hit artifacts at 90% but everything is fine at 85% so that is my target for gaming.

Also be sure to increase the fan speed with the OC to avoid over heating, my default fan speed is 40%, I set it to 70% when its OC'd and it runs cool.

In the screen shot showing the fan setting use the slider I marked to adjust the fan setting.

I you do this go slow in very small increments.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

I followed a tutorial on OC'ing with Riva Tuner, I reviewed about 5 different tutorials and they were all very similar.

What all did I miss?

And can you direct me to the info, a tutorial, or share the info with me?

Thanks.