Attention John V

Guest boeingqa

Guest boeingqa

John, any help on this would be great or anyone else..

l have an i7 920 clocked at 4GHz but my 1600 triple trannel memory is stuck at 1200

how can l change to 1600 or more but leave the 4GHz stable

l have a 850watt true power PS antec, with an i7 and 6 gig 1600 memory and a gigabyte ex58-ud5 MB

l have tryed to change it to 1600 but it doesnt want to boot to windows.

Please any help on this would be great

Thx John or guys

Paul

I am no OC expert. My i7 920 ("Uber2") took my local system builder a month to get stable at 4.2 and 1600 memory. That invloved two different mobos, 3 brands of RAM, and about 15 Win7 reinstalls for them.

A week after taking delivery, the PC then had a brain fart and dropped to defaults in the BIOS. I then followed the Gigabyte OC guide and got it back to 4.0Ghz but memory (like you) was stuck at 1200.

So I put Uber2 in my car and drove it back to my system builder and their OC guru tapped his magic fingers across various voltage values and presto, it was back stable at 1600.

I now just run it at 4.0ghz / 1600 so as to not tempt fate.

So I will defer to OC experts on this one, sorry mate :(

Sorry to but in here, but John, are you saying that your RAM is at the stock setting of 1600 and you just OC'd the CPU to 4.00Ghz?

I wasn't aware that you could do that. I was under the impression you had to do both, which I tried a few times (unsuccessfully) and was pissing my pants that I would cook something, so put it all back to default until I learned more about it.

Frank

Guest boeingqa

l have mine at 4GHz but my ram stays at 1200 and not the stock 1600... l dont know what to do its hard hehehe

Thx

Paul

You are right, Heiko.

The mobo BIOS is different in most boards, so I guess it makes sense to look up the manufacturers site and get the info from there according to the BIOS you have installed.