EGTF Issue

GrayRider

I installed EGTF today. The install was normal. My Central was set to Europe. I have the latest orbx library installed.

One of my problems is. For some reason I'm taking a heavy frame rate hit, and my frame rates drop to 10?. I have 11 of the other England air fields installed. These seem to be normal as far as frame rates 25 to 30.

The readme mentions/recommends in the FTX Aero Tool to use course in the detail bump map part of the aero tool. Mine was set to cracked. Note. I have never used this tool before. When I selected course. I then clicked on apply.  When I did this a box opened up. It gives me four choices to choose from:

1) OK to overwrite this file in FSX

2) Make file the aero default

3) Copy file to your own backup

4) Do nothing with this file

Since I wasn't sure what to do. I selected Ok to overwrite this file in FSX? I'm not sure if I messed up here or not?.. Than I went back to the aero tool and went back to the cracked setting I had and did the same thing.

When I started FSX I thought I would see a data build taking place. This didn't happen?.

Maybe EGTF is real close to an International Airport, which could be a cause for my frame rate hits at EGTF. So for now. I don't know what's causing my frame rate issues at EGTF only.

GrayRider

Hello GrayRider,

sorry to hear you have issues. Such a performance hit is sure not normal and there will be no difference between the various AERO settings (the file size is the same).

Do you have your streetlights set to 'Day Mode' ? Specially near a huge city this will make a big difference. We are working on the FTX Global light system for the UK which will arrive in the near future - this will bring a very noticeable performance increase. Until then 'Day Mode' is recommended for day time flying.

Please also explore the control panel settings for EGTF. For every day flying  you might disable the animals and set your long grasses lower.