Please check these specs to buy a new FSX-rig Is 10,000RPM HD worth it?

alexf

I am ready to buy a new PC after 4 years. I already have a GTX-480 so I included a cheaper card (it will go to my current box as secondary PC).

Is a Western Digital Velociraptor 10,000 RPM better for FSX? Des it make a difference over the usual 7,200 RPM? I already have an external 1TB for backups so I figure any internal over 500GB is fine (I also have an extra 500Gb from my old computer that I plan to install as a secondary HD here).

This is what I'm configuring but I am not a hardware expert. My budget is US$2,000 so this fits within (link is only available for 7 days in the supplier's site. I plan to buy before then):

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/saved/1CLWGQ

Is liquid cooling advisable?

Is the case OK or is there one better? My main concern is temperature and noise control. Bays to install some of my older HDs is secondary.

Any changes to this setup, recommendations from more knowledgeably guys, is very welcome, as long as I stay within $2k budget.

Thanks!

Yes a raptor 10,000 rpm is better for FSX,if you can get this one with your rig ....600GB Gaming Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000RPM SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 32MB Cache WD6000HLHX (Single Hard Drive) ...... it is faster than the regular raptor 300GB, you may be able to sell the other hardrive you have tp offset the cost.

So far you have a very good rig.

By the way, you'r in Miami.....have you think about going to compUSA and ask them how much it will cost you to have them built the same rig for you? The good think about it is you don't have to buy another GPU since you already have one, give them what you have + what you need ....you may save some $$$ by doing so. They build one for me a long time ago. You may save on parts too......  DAM $10.00 less than what I've paid... 

http://www.compusa.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=5592441&CatId=99