No shadows under aircraft in flight - Why?

Morten

Not extremely important - but when taking impressive screenshots in order to show other curious people, it looks rather artificial when everything else do casts shadows except for your own aircraft.

The problem is not present if you go to any other non-addon airport in a FTX region. So a rather strange phenomena.. ???

I am no expert, by I believe it has something to do with the fact that Orbx purposefully increases the ground texture elevation slightly in order to reduce/eliminate runway flickering at altitude but with the tradeoff of no ground shadowing. I guess you can't have both.

Gday Morten  usually the only reason I get no shadows is using legacy FS9 aircraft or aircraft prepared with the fs9 sdk.  I looked at Cessnock and Alice and Jackson Hole briefly and all show aircraft shadows with FSX sdk aircraft. Is the no shadows at all ORBX add-on airports ? Not being rude but are you sure that you have the aircraft shadows option selected ? 

Yep, shadow from aircraft is turned on!

Tried both FSX standard aircraft and addon aircraft - same issue. And yes the airports with this problem are all ORBX made - payware as well as freeware. BUT default airports within the ORBX regions do not have the problem.

Outside ORBX regions I haven't registered any problem at all. 

Try going into your weather menu and selecting the theme "Clear Skies" at the top of the list. The intensity of the ground shadows are dictated by the visibility range in the weather menu, by selecting clear skies it will quickly show you if visibility range is the issue. If your weather theme has a visibility range of less than 20 miles the planes shadow on the ground is very pale and difficult to spot.

Russ: not relevant, visibility here is set to 100 miles.