Noob here! HELP!!! lol

Chucky55

Ok...Bit of background...I'm a commercial ag pilot (crop duster) working on my instrument rating. Used  FS many years ago when I got my PPL.  Recently decided to jump in again, but live in rural area and have only satellite internet with limited speed, so have to stick with FSX.  Just learning about all the add ons and stuff...decided Orbx was the answer for more realistic training scenery and such.  I usually google and youtube a lot for research info, but have run into a few things I can't seem to get sorted out and would appreciate some assistance please!

I just purchased Global. Vectors, NA openLC and some other stuff...but am not that experienced in some of things relating to install. Getting around a computer is not my area of expertise...I know enough to know I don't really know much!!!  LOL

SO...

From Central, was asked about install library...here's what I did and now have questions about...I have a 1tb SSD for my primary drive, with FSX installed default location (have read I shouldn't have done that...), then have a 1.5TB external HD I set up  thinking I would use it for Orbx so as not to fill up my SSD...

I chose the external for backup location, and for Library creation, then used Central to download and install Orbx.  When I look at Library file on it with explorer, it shows no files. 

Did Central install Orbx stuff in FSX on root drive SSD? And if so should I leave it as is? Will it operate "better...faster...smoother" from SSD?

Along same lines, for future was considering adding a second SSD internal drive and maybe placing all simulator stuff on it...FSX, Orbx, Add ons.  Is this a good idea? If so, is there a way to move/migrate it all from root drive without having to uninstall/reinstall?

Appreciate any advice!

Charles

Hi, welcome to the forums