Thinking of going the Asus Rog Strix 3080?? Advice Needed

shane280172

Hi everyone,

Could I get some advice. When a new graphics card comes out I usually go out and buy the best of the best without thinking. Now Im older and these 3090 cards are extremely expensive I think I need some help..

I use my PC for predominately Flight Sim (P3dV4 currently) but will move to MSFS2020 in the new year. I also play the odd game (Red Dead Redemption, GTA5) along with doing some video editing.

My PC specs are as follows...

I9 9900K

Installed Ram 16GB

Antec1200w Power Supply

GeForce 1080TI graphics card

Acer Predator X27 4K Monitor

After doing some research I believe the Asus Rog Strix 3080 10gb should give me over 30 FPS and a smooth sim all round? Again Im no expert.

I believe the 3090 would be great for 8K gaming but I wont be looking at that for some years to come. 4K is fine at present.

Is there anything else I should take on board?

Thanks for reading

Hi,

Personally I would wait for 20GB version of this card, it should be announced before end of year to compete with AMD and it's 16GB Big Navi. I would also increase available RAM to 32GB@3200+ MHz (wouldn't go over 3800MHz, not much gain), MSFS likes RAM and new addons will happily use it.

13 hours ago, PiotrMKG said:

https://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/geforce_rtx_3090_founder_review,21.html for now there is almost no difference. Maybe after switching to DX12 there will be more performance to have in 3090. We still have to wait for sim that uses 8+ cores. 

Yea I think the 3080 will do it. I am hoping the 20gb card are available for christmas.

Hi

This may give you an insight into an issue that is often overlooked. The RTX 30.. series cards use a lot of electrical power . For a GPU , performance =  power consumption and power consumption gives rise to heat.

"Jaystwocents" video on RTX 3080 cooling

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJ4ha0zsWHw