Highest athletic achievement

Hi all. yesterday, I was watching a young athlete on TV was remembering my own brief athletic career back in high school. I played basketball and ran track, the latter as a quarter-miler. My highest achievement in either sport was to qualify for the Washington State Track Meet. There, I had the proud achievement of finishing dead last in my preliminary qualifying heat.But at least I did make state. I suspect that there are more than a few Forum members who did much better in athletics than I did. So tell us, what were some of your proudest moments and highest achievements? Go ahead--brag!

When I was sixteen or so, I was a left hander and played cricket for Barking Town. opening the batting most games.  My highest score was 54.  When out of the army and married my wife and I started playing golf. We played until I was 75 or so and I managed to win one monthly mug in all that time.  In our lounge, my wife has a trophy cabinet full up with all the stuff she won!:rollmyeyes:    I still maintain I was the better golfer!   :banghead:

When I was twelve I was short and fat and couldn't run very fast playing soccer. So whenever I was lucky enough to have that damn ball I would kick, hit and scream at every guy trying to take that ball away from me:angry:. End result: Had to watch from the sidelines. :unsure::DGo figure.

I ran track in high school (plus some other sports) and my main race was the 440, as we called it back then (400 meters now).  In every race I ran I came in second.  Why?  Because the state 440 champion and record holder was on my team.:rolleyes:.  We also won all of the mile relays.

10 hours ago, lifejogger said:

I ran track in high school (plus some other sports) and my main race was the 440, as we called it back then (400 meters now).  In every race I ran I came in second.  Why?  Because the state 440 champion and record holder was on my team.:rolleyes:.  We also won all of the mile relays.