A few days later ..read on...

Paul Tull

Hello everyone and Orbx

This will be a very short opinion of my my experience downloading and installing true earth central and South for XP11.....   not!

My wife bought me these two products on Christmas day afternoon and I finally finally got Central installed over 48 hrs later, South has been downloading now since yesterday morning Fri 28th starting at 11am and it's still not done.. it's nearly there.... ..but not quite....it's going to be approx 40 hrs for the full complete download and installation for South......quite ridiculous I think.

Now.........I am no novice with flight simulators, ive done it all and got them all and had them all.......I have Fibre broadband, a mega computer....the full shebang...  ...but wow......it's a lot of time isn't it to get the full immersive experience.....I think so. 

Soooooo if your having the same experience has I have had book yourself a two weeks holiday and leave your computer on..... my computer has been on continuous now for quite sometime. 

While it has been downloading South I did manage to fly from Leeds to hull in airfoils Cessna....  it was totally awesome.. . .....I've never seen this in a desktop sim in over 20 years...   totally MEGA! 

So thank you Orbx........I think I will go away for a month though when I purchase North!

Regards

Paul 

The TE regions installation process is not just about download speed. Whilst the files can be downloaded in a matter of hours depending on your internet connection, that is just the first part of the process. The conversion of tens of thousands of files from jpg to dds format can take a significant amount of time. The key here is your PC and Windows environment. The faster your CPU and the more cores it has, the quicker the conversion process will be.

Here are some tips to speed things up:

- Don’t have any other applications running. That includes web browsers or ANY other apps