ATI 5000 series Video Card

helberger

Hi,

How many here are using an Ati 5850 or higher Video card with the latest driver(s) and how satisfied are you? or which issues do you have?  I would like to upgrade my 8800GT card to something better.

Thanks

System: I7 920 @3.6 6GB Ram, 2x500BG H/D, NV8800GT 512 MB, 22" Monitor, etc.

I'm using the 5870 with the 9.12 drivers.  So far no issues and is performing well with FTX products in combination with an overclocked i7-920, but I can't give you a comparison to nVidia's GTX285 coz I've never used that one before.

There are others in this forum who are having problems with the 9.11 and 9.12 drivers though, fortunately for me I'm not one of them  ;)

Cheers

Jason

Thanks for your reply, I was hopping someone who used NV prior switching to ATI 5800 to post

their experience. The place I buy my cards don't like returning them unless they are defective.

I am just curious about the IQ and performance in REX 2 clouds.

Thanks

• 1 month later...

I have just replaced my 8800GTS with an ATI Radeon 5850.

So far, not impressed as far as FSX goes.

Despite downloading the latest drivers, I'm getting lots of graphics corruption ranging from flashing scenery tiles, parts of my aircraft randomly turning transparent, right through to virtual cockpits becoming a mess of random polgons.

Anyone have any solutions?

GTX 275 here... was a ATI 3870 (so similar to your 8800GT)

Wouldn't go back to ATI again for FSX personally. Cloud formations with an ATI card used to give me 5 FPS...same scenario with the Nvidia Card, no difference in FPS.

However I did enjoy the ATI Card in other games so I am not a dedicated Nvidia person... just found that the Nvidia seemed to perform better for what I wanted.

Mine is a Zotac GTX 275... 5 Year warranty with Zotac and a very nice looking card.